Things Your Editor Will Praise You For

1. Confirming that you’ve received something. I have to say this is the absolute number one thing for me. If I send an author edits and don’t hear back from them that they got them, I worry. And then I’ll start bugging that author with e-mails, since I’m wondering if the edits got through.

2. Using Track Changes correctly. You’d be amazed at how many people just don’t get it right. I’m lucky that I’ve only had this problem a few times, but when it does happen, it’s miserable. It’s like starting all over again with a manuscript. Or at least it feels like it.

3. Returning your edits early. Oh yeah. Most of my authors consistently do this, and in my book, that makes you a god. Hear that? A god.

4. Not e-mailing us every five minutes about reading a manuscript. We get to them as soon as humanly possible, but it’s important to keep in mind that we have other submissions to read and edits to complete. We’ve got deadlines to work with in order to get your books published on time. Oh, and we have lives, too. We don’t sit at our computer twenty-four hours a day, reading, editing and answering e-mails. We have families and friends and housework. And sleep. =)

5. I don’t really have a #5. I just thought the list should be a nice number, and four just doesn’t do it for me. Nah, can’t do four. (Channeling my inner Rain Man.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Editing

Leave a Reply

