Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

First off, I’m going to warn you…lots of spoilers ahead. If you haven’t read the books and plan to, don’t read this. lol I’m serious.

I loved it. I’ll say that right off the bat. It had such a different tone than the other six books, which I did a general review on a while back. I wanted to wait to form my final opinion until after I’d read the last one, because you all know how the final book in a series can really change your view on the entire series. This one didn’t change my view of the series other than the fact that maybe it made me appreciate the rest a little more.

People who don’t write or critically read books probably don’t understand how hard characterization is, especially in a series like this where the character development is so crucial to the stories. In the final book, you see Harry, Hermione and Ron in such a different light. They’ve grown up so much, and if you didn’t realize in the sixth book how much they’ve grown up, you really realize it in the seventh one.

At the end of the Half Blood Prince (6), I was really disappointed. Supremely disappointed, but I had a feeling that the Deathly Hallows (7) would rectify a lot of what happened, i.e. Dumbledore dying, Snape killing Dumbledore, Snape really being on Volemort’s side, Harry feeling very betrayed by Dumbledore, etc.

The Deathly Hallows entranced me the entire way through, especially once you get to the end when the fight at Hogwarts breaks out and Voldemort ends up killing Snape for control of the Elder Wand. When Snape gives Harry his memories and Harry sticks them in the pensieve to see them, I was blown away by what he saw. J.K. did a great job at making you unsure of Snape the entire time and not entirely knowing what his motivation ones, and it all ties together very nicely after the memories and after Harry’s conversation with Dumbledore. It explained so much that I never even thought of or could have tied together. And being surprised like that was a very nice surprise indeed.  =)

The one thing about the book that I was unsure of, and you can’t really say it’s with the book itself, was the ending. J.K. Rowling went on record as to saying that the way she wrote the last book, the story couldn’t be continued. I spoke with my best friend and she and I are in agreement that we completely disagree with this. There are so many different ways in which she could continue the series using Harry and Ginny’s and Ron and Hermione’s children. Plus, just because Voldemort was killed, that doesn’t explain away the Death Eaters. What’s to say that a new leader couldn’t rise within them and take Voldemort’s place, therefore causing something else to happen. I don’t think she could pull another seven books out of it, but there are definitely still stories that can be told.

All in all, the series was perfect. I plan on buying it and reading it over and over again and making sure M and I’s kids read them. =) They’re books that will go down as classics and will be around for many many years to come. It’s a series I’d highly recommend anyone going out and buying and reading two or three times, or more. LOL

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

  1. She actually said that she may, one day, continue writing about the world she developed in the books, but that Harry’s story has been told. I think that trying to go further with the same characters would ruin the ending. All great things must come to an end, and she ended it about as good as she could have. I would love to see more books about Hogwarts, or other people in the same “setting” but no more about the characters we all know, unless they met old characters like teachers, store clerks, etc. Just my $0.02.

    Now read Twilight. To help prepare you… Don’t try to compare the actual writing of Twilight to Harry Potter or you will be very disappointed. Twilight is all about the story.

  2. tak4

    I’m prepared for that. I’ve been told by a couple of people that the actual writing in the Twilight books is not very good. I’m working hard to turn off my editor switch and just read. LOL I started it last night and it was pretty easy to see that the whole thing was going to be very simple writing.

Leave a Reply

