Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I just finished this one today at lunch. I’m making it a point to read more, since I miss reading as much as I used to. For pleasure that is. LOL I read all the time, but it’s usually for work.

I loved Twilight. I thought Stephenie Meyer did a wonderful job with the story and it had me absolutly entranced. It took me a minute to turn off my editor switch, since the writing is very simple, not at all what I’m used to reading, but once I got a couple of chapters into it, the story had me hooked. Completely and totally. I haven’t read a story that I’ve gotten so into (other than one I’ve contracted, of course) in a long time, so it was a really nice surprise. I’m sure a lot of you have yet to read it, so I want to talk about it without giving too much away, which can be difficult when writing a review. LOL

I was very unsure about Bella at first. I wasn’t connecting with her, but after Edward entered into the story, I found it much easier to connect with her as the story went on and her interaction with Edward heightened. Now that I look back at the story and really think about it, her reaction to finding out that Edward was a vampire was a little unrealistic. She accepted it too readily and easily. I mean, really, wouldn’t any normal person freak out a little? I didn’t even really feel any apprehension on her part.

And I felt a little sorry for Jacob. =( Poor guy. I’m still left with some questions about Billy. It seems like he gave up a little too easily, but I’m sure that will be addressed somewhere in the other three books. I know the issue with Rosalie will be resolved, as well, if you can truly call it an issue. I have to remember that this is just the first book of four. lol

Now I’d like to see the movie when it comes out on DVD and see how it follows the story, which is something I always like doing in a case where a movie is based off a book. I do know of one scene that I’ve seen just in the previews that doesn’t happen in the book, but a friend told me that the scene makes sense in the movie and has to be there for people who haven’t read the book. So, yeah, we’ll see.

It’s a book I recommend, so everyone should go out and buy it. =)

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

  1. Wait, wait, wait…I didn’t realize that you had only read the first book! I thought you meant Twilight the series, and you meant Twilight the book. They get better as you go (except the first 1/2 of the next one.) 😦

  2. seems likely that they will come out with a Twilight sequel pretty soon, there’s a crazy lot of ticket sales at stake

Leave a Reply

