Gran Torino

Myles and I watched this movie last night. It had been in our Netflix queue since we saw previews for it, but I moved it up when I heard some friends at work talking about watching it and how much they loved it.

Now, anyone who knows me knows that I have a habit of watching movies and critiquing them how I would read a book, and I habit a habit of reading books like I am editing them. =P It has to be a really good book for me to be able to shut down my editor switch. With Gran Torino, I pretty much forgot I even had a switch so I could “turn” on my editor self.

The movie was phenomenal. I loved Clint Eastwood’s character, Walt. Watching him develop was great, not to mention his attitude. He’s a complete ass, but some of the crap that comes out of his mouth, you just can’t help but laugh at him. I think a lot of people probably watch it and see how hateful he is to Asians and how racist he is toward them because f his time in the Korean War, but if you pay attention, he’s a derogatory ass to EVERYONE. He just cracked me up. I sooo want to be like that when I’m an old fart.

The movie seems a bit slow in the beginning, but you still don’t want to just turn it off, like I have done before with other movies without a second thought. I’d have to say that it’s one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. And for those of you who know me, you know I don’t cry at movies. NEVER. I honestly didn’t cry at the end of Marley and Me. I’m the only person I know who didn’t, but I cried at the end of Gran Torino. Yup. Amazing.

Leave a comment

Filed under TV and Movies

Leave a Reply

