Kindle Contest Day 1 = Leslie Dicken

Please welcome Leslie Dicken!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

Watching the snow fall. (While inside!)

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

Good ones! Anything that can help me to escape to another place and/or time!

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

Pecan Pie…but I love just about all holiday food!

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Since I was a kid, I loved driving around looking at all of the houses lit up with decorations and lights.  I still take my kids out every year to see our neighbor’s decorations.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

Since I’m Jewish, we don’t have too much decorations.  I tend to focus more on snowflakes, which I’ll hang in the windows.

Scavenger Hunt Question:

In Leslie’s futuristic novel, The Price of Discovery, what job does heroine Erin Price have?

The answer can be found on Leslie’s website.

Please e-mail your answer to terakleinfelter@gmail.com, with the subject KINDLE CONTEST DAY ONE – LESLIE DICKEN. In the body of your e-mail, please list your answer and your name and address. Please note that by participating, you will be signed up for that author’s newsletter.

As a reminder, do not post your answer in your comment! Posts will be deleted and the commenter will be disqualified.

P.S. I was hoping to have a form done to start this off, but my form person got REALLY sick, so we’re going to have to do it the e-mail way for now.

34 Comments

Filed under Contest!, Samhain Publishing

34 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 1 = Leslie Dicken

  1. Ahh yes, I long for having snow also. Actually, it’s the coldest right before the snow, by some magic/physics snow softens the weather considerably. (I wonder do the paper snowflakes do the same too. Actually you gave me a good idea, I gotta make some with my kids at home.)

  2. fallon hadley

    Christmas time is my favorite time. I too, like to cruise around and see the lights. The only problem is, if I’m in the passenger seat, I fall asleep. LOL!

    I guess it’s just to relazing. But while I’m awake, it is very beautiful.

    Thanks,
    Fallon. H.

    Answer to the question listed has been emailed.

  3. I miss seeing snow! We don’t get much of here in the South, except for freak blizzards like the one earlier this year. LOL

    Thanks for a wonderful contest. 🙂 I’ve sent my answer in for the scavenger hunt.

    ~Amanda

  4. My favorite holiday tradition is decorating the Christmas tree while listening to Christmas music. It just seems to bring in the holiday spirit more!

    I sent my answer!

  5. Yes, snow falling while you’re inside is the best way to experience it! I’m not much of a winter girl – why we moved to MN is beyond me. Snow on the ground for more-or-less 6mths of the year! I’m nuts.

    ALthough it is pretty when it first falls.

    Aww holiday traditions rock – we use to do the same thing, Leslie. My mum would drive us to one block in our wee welsh town, that would all be lit up. WOW we loved it.

    Now, our tradition is to always go to build-a-bear and make christmas bears for the kids, and we go to the cinema on Christmas Eve! This year, I think it may be Alvin and the Chipmunks 2.

    I have sent an email with scavenger hunt answer :o)
    xx
    Hayley JoAnne

  6. Amy S.

    Driving around and looking at all the Christmas lights is one of my fave holiday traditions. We take my nieces and nephew every year.

  7. Hope your forms person is well soon!

    I love Christmas Lights too! I’m much too lazy to put them up though…LOL

  8. I have to admit, I am not a fan of the holidays, just the sell prices. Not that it is all about gifts but the sales in general, ex: we were able to buy my son’s crib on a black friday for 75% off after all the coupons and promos!!
    I do love the lights. I just feel that the holidays have taken over and right after halloween.

  9. Maggie Johnson

    I have to say that Christmas is my favorite Holiday.I love to decorate with my boys.We always go out to see the lights.I love pumkin pie,its my fav!There is nothing better then to see Christmas through my kids eyes.

    I sent my answer!

  10. Kathleen

    I like the first snow fall when all the trees are covered and it can stay like that until Christmas.. then it has to melt.. I have lived in a snowbelt area for the last 7 yrs and man or man do we get the snow.. And with temps staying in the 50’s in Novemeber I shudder to think of the long winter we are gonna have… I would rather get snow in November than in April…

  11. s7anna

    First of all, I have to mention how much I enjoyed reading Leslie’s book Beauty Tempts the Beast! I adore reading modern takes on classic fairy tales, just find them to be absolutely mesmerizing.

    Now, as for Christmas, there are certain aspects that I love and others that I detest…I love that people are more in touch with their charitable side; I hate that more and more Christmas represents a materialistic and capitalistic holiday. I love that people take the time to appreciate each other despite their many differences; I hate that you have to deal with crazy shoppers at the mall who will mow you down in the quest for the next sale item.

    My most favourite past time during Christmas, other than chowing down on delicious foods and deserts is of course just walking around in my neighbourhood and seeing all the different Christmas decorations. Since I live in an apartment, there isn’t much room to decorate and I love to see how all out some folks will go every season.

    I hope that your “form” person will be okay, this year has been just awful with all the bugs that are floating around.

    I can’t wait to see what other challenges you post in the upcoming days…I’m totally psyched to find out who will end up winning the ebook reader.

    Happy Reading
    Anna S. H.

  12. Crystal B.

    Hi Leslie. I like to watch snow fall too. Christmas is my favorite holiday. I love all the music, decorations and good cheer.

  13. Joder

    I love the whole decorating process! I love the look and feeling it creates and it really motivates me to get all that shopping and baking done.

  14. Estella

    I don’t care for snow. Thankfully, we seldom get it.

  15. Cathy M

    I’m not much for snow either, but luckily don’t have to worry about that where I live. My favorite part of Christmas is sitting late at night and enjoying the decorated tree, the twinkling lights and a warm cup of cocoa.

  16. Elaine R

    While I live in Colorado, and we get our share of snow, most times its melted away the next day, two at the most.

  17. Fedora

    Ooh, I like your favorite part of Christmas, Cathy! Sitting down to enjoy the decorations with a hot drink in hand sounds lovely! That would mean that I’d have to have cleaned the house sufficiently for us to decorate first… 😉

    Leslie, I love holiday food, too, and I love that in general, we spend a fair amount of time during the holiday enjoying food with family and friends–not much more fun than that! 😉

    And I’ve got The Price of Discovery on my TBR–looking forward to having time to start reading!

    Thanks for the interview, Tera and Leslie!

  18. Linda Fast

    We do not have snow yet but it is cold and it feels like it could snow any minute. My son who lives 4 hours north of me has had snow already although it did not stay on the ground. We have had very mild weather lately, in the high 40’s and low 50’s.
    My favourite part of Christmas is the shopping for gifts to give to family and friends.
    I sent my answer for the scavenger hunt
    -thanks for including Canadians in this contest-

  19. Armenia

    I have to admit its a love/hate relationship with me when it comes to the Holidays.

    I love the traditional gatherings and visits with friends and family, great cooking smells and decorating, and driving around to check out all the decorated homes. I love playing in the snow and watching nature, cuddling up by a fire reading a good book.

    I hate shopping and crowded malls, and the constant advertisements.

    Thanks for a great contest and author interviews.

  20. Tracey D (bl0226)

    The older I get, the less interested I am in decorating for the holidays; I’m lucky to be able to clean my house for the holidays!

    As a kid, I, too, enjoyed seeing all the homes decorated for the holidays. When I visited Chicago, my cousin drove us downtown and the buildings were just beautiful with white blinking lights. It put me in the Christmas mood.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  21. Nancy Gilliland

    I used to just love snow, but now that I have to walk from the bus to work, I’m not so fond of it. Pecan pie is a favorite in my family as well, and I make it for theholidays evey year-funny thing is I’m the only one in the family that doesn’t care for it much, yet everyone says I make a great one. Go figure

  22. orelukjp0

    I agree with curling up on the couch and reading when it is cold. I’m under the afghan most of the time in the winter. But I don’t care for the cold. More than ..Ahem … years in the cold and my bones crave the warmth. Yes it is pretty with the snow. Everything looks so clean and white after a new snowfall.
    Thanks for being part of a fantastic contest.

  23. chey

    I still like driving around to look at the decorations at night too!

  24. Rachel M

    1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

    I live in Southern California and the temps usually do not get below 50 at night. This is good due to having problems with the right side of my body. I like to read, be on my computer or playing card games on the computer.

    2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

    I like all kinds of romances.

    3. What is your favorite holiday food?

    I love Pumpkin pie with Cool Whip.

    4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

    As a kid, I loved Passover because Elijah might have visited and I would keep peeking out the door looking for him.

    5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

    My family is Jewish and my mom said her parents did not celebrated holidays so we celebrated Christmas, hanukkah, Passover, Thanksgiving etc. She was determined to make up for that. We had all kind of decorations every year.

  25. tom m

    A good book sounds like a great way to spend a cold day!

  26. yvonne e

    I also prefer to watch the snow from inside!

  27. Hi 🙂
    Thanks for the fun quicky interview with Leslie Dicken. I am thankful you brought her to my attention. I love paranormal romance & am delighted to add another author to my list!
    Thanks again,
    RKCharron
    🙂

  28. I’m so happy that she likes snow! I do too, and it just doesn’t seem right when people say that they hate it. 🙂

    I am sending my answer. . . .

  29. I always feel kind of strange cuz I seem to be the only one how can’t stand snow. OK, I admit it’s beautiful as long as I’m inside and don’t have to go out. Snow would be better if it were not cold.
    Do you also have a favorite music for snuggling in the warm with a book? I always love the Soundtrack of The Kingdom of Heavens for reading in the winter!
    Loved the interview.

  30. Tameka Green

    Christmas is my very favorite holiday. I love decorating the tree, playing christmas carol songs, eating all the good foods, and watching all my favorite movies. I just love spending time with my family. I like when its first snows but I hate when it get’s brown and slushie yuckkk!!. Last but not least I love sleeping in the cold weather but I hate having to go to work. Lol The decorating is alright I love to bake during the Christmas holiday’s

  31. mtr

    I’m not a big fan of cold weather since I lived in the desert for 8 years. but I do like to curl up with a good book on a cold day and just relax. After reading the about your novel I definately want to read it once I have time.

  32. Ooh! I also love driving around and looking at all of the lit up houses. When I was little, my entire neighborhood did luminaries, and all the cars would turn their lights off to drive through the neighborhood and look at the lit up streets. It was wonderful!

  33. RobynL

    oh Pecan Pie, I even made one once and it was liked, lol. I love Pecans and bake cookies and loaves with them.

  34. As long as I don’t have to go outside I like to watch the snow fall too…it’s best when done indoors curled up with a good book 🙂 And while I don’t like pecans I can understand your love of pie 🙂