Kindle Contest day 2 = Nicole Austin

Please welcome Nicole Austin!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

Colder weather…in Florida. Eh, not so much. We do get a little break from the nearly constant heat but it doesn’t last long enough. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. I’d rather pay astronomical air conditioning bills and have a green Christmas than shovel snow and drive on ice!

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

Wow, this is a really difficult question because I enjoy all genres of fiction but my favorites would have to be edge-of-your-seat Suspense/Thrillers. My favorite thriller authors are the Special Ks (King and Koontz). No matter how many times I’ve read the stories the anticipation still has me hanging on every word.

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

Bourbon sweet potato casserole. Sweet potatoes, brown sugar, pecans and marshmallows with a little bourbon to give it some kick. Mmm…it’s so good. There are never leftovers but I’ve got it covered. I always make one to share during get-togethers and put away a second casserole for after our company’s gone home.

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Going to see Christmas lights is something my family looks forward to all year long. Our local newspaper runs a list of creative lighting displays to help us plan our route. We pile in the car, put our Christmas CDs on shuffle and have a great time. Depending on the weather we stop for either ice cream or hot chocolate. It’s a fun family evening we all enjoy.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

When my kids were younger, I went all out. Now I keep things a bit simpler. I put a fresh balsam wreath on the front door, deck out a real tree in the living room, put out my great-grandmother’s nativity set and string some white lights on the shrubs and trees out front.

Scavenger Hunt Question

Where does Nicole Austin find inspiration?

The answer can be found on Nicole’s website or blog.

Click here to submit your answer.

As a reminder, do not post your answer in your comment! Posts will be deleted and the commenter will be disqualified.

32 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

32 responses to “Kindle Contest day 2 = Nicole Austin

  1. Hi 🙂
    Thank you for the interview.
    Is Nicole on Twitter? I searched but couldn’t find her.
    Does the form replace the email for the scavenger hunt?
    🙂
    All the best,
    RKCharron
    xoxo

  2. Judith Hulley

    I like the sound of your recipe.
    I always make more potatoes and vegetables than I need on the day. The day after Christmas they are mixed together & fried up to make “Bubble & Squeak” and served with the left over cold meat from Christmas day. My family enjoy this almost as much as the previous Christmas feast!

  3. I think you are really my kind of girl. I would prefer an ac to a shovel too. I definitely live in the wrong country. It’s way to cold in Germany.
    Never ate something like that but most American recipes make me go all WOW! Don’t know our holiday food is so much simpler.

  4. Phyllis

    I just sent off my answer.

    I grew up in Florida, but like I already said, I love snow. You can enjoy your green Christmases, but I want SNOW. 🙂

  5. Maggie Johnson

    I’d prefer a green Christmas but my kids love the snow.I really don’t like sweet potatos but my boys luv them,so i make them.

  6. Nancy Gilliland

    I don’t mind the colder weather, as long as it isn’t rainy. Unfortunately, today it is colder and rainy, so yuck!!! The only holiday tradition we still have is the whole family (my 4 kids, their so’s and kids) gather at Mom’s on Christmas eve for a potluck dinner, and gift exchange. I do love mom’s holiday stuffing and wish I felt like making it more often. I would love SNOW on Christmas, but we don’t always get it here.

  7. I’ll never forget the December I traveled to Crystal Springs, Florida (also on the Gulf) for scuba diving certification. I thought it was crazy we were doing this in December, but I came back to GA with a tan. LOL

    Great interview!

  8. yvonne e

    I guess we all enjoy all of the Christmas lights!

  9. I actually think that the old decorations, the ones that one comes to expect (like those old Christmas-tree decorations I remember since childhood) are the best. I have one with a magenta squirrel that I always put in the neatest place, and almost every other thing in my tree is full of memories–with some new ones, to remember this year by.

  10. tom m

    I’ve only experienced a couple of not too snowy Christmases while visiting relatives for the season. A nice warm Florida Christmas sounds great!

  11. I filled out the scavenger hunt form with answer!

    WOW, that Bourbon sweet potato casserole sounds tasty. I’ll have to search for a recipe to have a try.

    Florida, oh you lucky soul. I’d love to be sunning it up right now :o)

  12. Crystal B.

    Great interview. I would love to try the bourbon sweet potato casserole. 🙂

  13. s7anna

    Hi Nicole,
    I’m a huge fan of your work. Passionate Realities is one of my all time favourite books.

    I love winter, the crisp cold air that just seeps into your pores and when you inhale, just jolts your system to complete awareness of your world. There’s something so cleansing about a fresh snowfall…nothing beats that first full snowfall of the season. The powdery softness of the flakes…the perfect texture to make snowballs. I’ve never been too fond of hot weather so being in hot, sunny weather all the time would drive me up the wall. I would enjoy the margaritas…but I think I’d rather have them inside while it’s snowing outside…

  14. Kathleen

    Wonderful interview.. I could not think of Christmas without snow.. but it can melt by New Year..
    I love to see the lights and my nieces and nephews have made Christmas for me..
    That sweet potato receipe sounds greats.. I have a similar one with out the bourbon…

  15. Amy S.

    Sweet potato casserole is my fave holiday food. I haven’t tried bourbon in it though. lol. I’ll have to try that.

  16. Cathy M

    I’m with you Nicole about all the Christmas decorating. I used to fill every nook and cranny when my kids were small, but now I feel overwhelmed when 16 boxes get unloaded into the living room. Hoping to cut back a lot this year, keeping it simple but still fun.

  17. Armenia

    Nicole, I just love your pictures with Jimmy Thomas !! Dayum, girl, you got to grope Mr. Barechested.

    Love Florida and all those decorated palm trees during Christmas time.

  18. Joder

    It’s been fun talking about the holidays, it’s motivating me to get things done.

    As for my favorite food, I too enjoy sweet potatoes with lots of marshmallows.

  19. Fedora

    How neat that your local paper helps you plan your Christmas light viewing! I don’t think ours does, but it sure would help to know where to drive/walk! We don’t typically get super cold weather for Christmas either–the kids always say they’d love to see an actual white Christmas, but I have my doubts it’d ever happen here! And mmmm… that sweet potato casserole sounds delicious! Very clever to make two to ensure leftovers, Nicole!!

  20. Estella

    I don’t decorate near as much, now that my kids are grown.
    Your sweet potatoes sound yummy!

  21. Tracey D (bl0226)

    Every Christmas I bake cakes and only 2 are in demand.. a sour cream pound cake and a rum cake. Needless to say, the rum cake is the most requested!

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  22. I filled out the form for the scavenger answer.

    The winters in Georgia are kinda wierd. One year you can be is shorts, another in jeans and tee, and another in full gear winter wear.

    It’s crazy. But I am glad we don’t get much of the white stuff. It’s pretty to look at but I couldn’t handle be stuck in the house.

    Thanks for the interview, it was great.

    Fallon H.

  23. Thanks for your comments, everyone!
    I am not on Twitter…yet. I have considered but it’s so much of a distraction. My writing time is very limited and I know myself well enough to know I’d become addicted to tweeting.
    Just put the recipe up on my blog. If you try it, I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do.
    Rain and cold, ick! I hope the weather improves, Nancy.
    I agree, Ieva. It’s the older decorations with many memories attached to them that are most special.
    Thanks, s7anna! Passionate Realities is my favorite too. Hmm…margaritas before a roaring fire sounds kind of nice. Might have to try that.
    Jimmy Thomas is great! Being friends with a photographer is a definite plus. In my next life, I want to be Syneca’s assistant and get to rub oil all over the models for their pictures. LOL!

  24. That’s a wonderful sweet potato recipe. Going to make it for Thanksgiving.

    I miss the snow we occasionally had in Maryland. Don’t see much of that in Louisiana!

    How nice of you to share your hunks with us, lol.

  25. Tameka Green

    My favorite food is baked ham, potato salad and candied yam yummmy!!!!!!!!!

    I love erotic romance I don’t care what genre I just love them all.

    The only thing I care about decorating is the Christmas tree. Lol

  26. Claudia

    No palm trees? No cavemen to wipe your brow?

  27. Decorated palm trees are tacky. LOL! Cavemen are nice though! Thank you ma’am, may I have another. *G*

  28. mtr

    I love brown sugar and pecans too it’s making me think about Thanksgiving, which is my favorite holiday. I wish I could go to Florida right now, it must be so nice to be warm, it is slowly getting colder where I am. I also like looking at christmas lights although people in my neighborhood don’t put up that many so I just drive to other neighborhoods.

  29. Pamk

    ooh yummy love sweet pototoe casserole. And since I live in Alabama we don’t have lots of snow and ice. Only time I want snow is on christmas day.

  30. Bourbon sweet potato casserole, huh? That sounds interesting. . . although I’ll admit that I’m not totally convinced.
    Again, yay christmas lights!

  31. RobynL

    I love the outdoor lights also. So pretty at night time. Inside I do much less than when the kids were home.

    Christmas is coming, yippee!!

  32. Hey Nicole,
    I like to keep things more simple now too, because it’s not always about decoration it’s the spirit of the season. And me, I like snow for Christmas, but after the New Year rings in I wish it would all go away…unfortunately that won’t happen where I live for several months after that 😦