Kindle Contest Day 4 = Avery Beck

Please welcome Avery Beck!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

I wish I had colder weather! In my part of the country, it still reaches 80
degrees in November. Sigh. But when it does dip into the 50s or so, my
favorite things are the significantly reduced electricity bill and the cozy
sweats I get to wear at night. I also like that I don’t have to go running
at 6:30 in the morning, because it’s still nice and cool at 9 am.

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

The same books I always like to read–a hot romance or interesting
nonfiction that will teach me something new. The other day, I saw a
magazine dedicated to Christmas cookies…that might be good this time of
year!

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

How much time do we have? I love holiday food! Gingerbread lattes.
Festively shaped sugar cookies topped with icing and sprinkles. My dad’s
tuna dip (and I don’t even like tuna…).

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Gathering the whole family together in one room for the gift exchange and
getting lost in a cloud of opened gifts, unopened gifts, and ripped-up
paper (and trying to find my drink amidst the mess). I like to play Santa,
but I usually have to fight my teenage niece for the part.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

Right now, I just do the living room, but I do get crazy there–tree with
all the trimmings, lighted garland around the doorways, wreath, stockings,
you name it. Oh, and a few lights outside too. I plan to move soon, and if
the budget allows, I’d love to shop for more decor and put a little
Christmas in each room at the new place. šŸ™‚

Scavenger Hunt Question

In what month did Avery’s debut novel, Sexy by Design, release?

The answer can be found at Avery’s website.

Click here to submit your answer.

As a reminder, do not post your answer in the comments! The comment/answer will be deleted and the commenter will be disqualified.

30 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

30 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 4 = Avery Beck

  1. Phyllis

    I get to be first to comment! šŸ™‚

    I’d love to see a recipe for that tuna dip.

  2. Hi šŸ™‚
    Thank you for introducing me to Avery Beck.
    I enjoyed learning more about her & her writing.
    All the best,
    RKCharron
    xoxo
    PS – Is Avery Beck on Twitter?

  3. Thanks for sharing about your holiday traditions Avery!

  4. Yes, the recipe for Tuna Dip would be great — my daughter LOVES tuna and I’d be in her good books for a long time, if I presented a new way to eat her favorite food. :o)

    Lovely to hear about other peoples holiday cheer, I really feel in the Christmas spirit now, after hearing Avery’s favorite part of the holidays. I love those moments too, everyone gathered around the tree and exchanging gifts. I admit, I get a bit teary eyed when a pressie gets a great reaction!

  5. s7anna

    Hi Avery,
    You’re a new author to me so I’m definitely very excited to explore your work. Your website is soo calling my name and my TBB pile just got a little higher šŸ™‚

    Whereabouts are you if you don’t mind me asking…I totally can’t tell the temperature by fahrenheit, so 50degrees…??? what’s that in celsius? I’m in Canada and we certainly get our share of the cold weather, in fact I wouldn’t have it any other way. I am so not a warm weather baby…bring on the cold!

    I absolutely adore all things Christmas! Baked good of course top the list…the sucky thing is that my Mum never was into baking thus if I want to eat something baked…I either have to buy it or make it myself…which I do enjoy doing from time to time…I lurv eating yummy shortbread cookies…and sugar cookies…butter pecan tarts…Christmas log cakes…good gosh I could so go on forever…My hips can certainly attest to my love affair with all things sweet and deelicious! šŸ˜›

    Happy Reading
    Anna

  6. Fedora

    Mm… Christmas cookies! Actually I just ordered a copy of a Christmas cookie book for our school library, to replace a copy that got damaged šŸ™‚ I guess the kids adore the photos and maybe get tempted to try some of the recipes with their families! Not much of a runner, but I sure do love the slightly cooler weather, too! I admit that it served me right when I wore my flower-adorned flip flops to walk the kids to school and it was *freezing* out! (It wasn’t literally; it just felt that way!)

    Any keeper shelf favorites you can share with us, Avery?

  7. Maggie Johnson

    I just started baking this year with my boys and we have a great time.Watching them open presents and say Thats what I wanted brings tears to my eyes.

  8. Crystal B.

    Hi Avery. Love your holiday tradition.

  9. Audra Holtwick

    Avery I Love Christmas decor all over my house too!!! Keep up the great writing. What other holiday foods do you have reciepes do you have?

  10. Judith Hulley

    I decorate the living room too and hang garlands and spinners from the lights in the hall so the house looks Christmassy as soon as you step through the door.

  11. Tameka Green

    My favorite thing about a cold weather is sleeping in a nice toasty bed with my favorite book (sexy romance novels) and my favorite snack chocolate covered cashew. Lol

  12. LOL I see a whole new spending spree coming your way with new decorating ideas for Christmas after you move….it’s inevitable. I’ve never tried a gingerbread latte, but right now when it is cold, rainy and overcast that sounds like a little bit of heaven!

  13. Cathy M

    On a cold day, I love to curl up with my down comforter and a cup of lemon tea while I read a hot-off-the-press romance story.

  14. tom m

    Gingerbread lattes sound wonderful! And Christmas cookies. I can’t wait!

  15. chey

    Your warm weather sounds amazing! I never had a warm Christmas. I once spent Christmas in Arizona, but it was cool and rainy that year.

  16. yvonne e

    I still like to decorate the living rooms with handcrafted Christmas ornaments.

  17. Armenia

    We actually splurged and now have 2 trees to decorate. One for the picture window in the living room, and one for the family room.

    Love all those different cookies we get to bake. Baking them during this time of year is guilt-free.

  18. Christine

    I love a hot romance novel in the cold months even more than during the summer. Their good all the time but something about snuggling under the covers with a romance while drinking a tea or hot cocoa seems so comforting and enjoyable. Especially when you have nothing to do the next day and you can just keep reading until it is finished.

  19. Hey everyone,

    Popping in to say I might put that tuna dip recipe on my blog if there’s interest, LOL. And–for s7anna–I’m in central Texas, it never gets too cold here!

    Good luck with the contest!

  20. mtr

    I love curling up with a hot romance that is my relaing time, I just wish I had more time to do so! The weather your having makes me think of Vegas, which to me is perfect weather, I can’t stand the cold. Yum I love holiday food especially anything with rainbow sprinkles although right now I just excited for Thanksgiving and all the leftovers.

  21. Joder

    I’m so jealous about the warm weather you have! That’s my least favorite thing about the holidays, snow and frigid temps.

  22. Ouch, I’m late on this one (November is a crazy month, isn’t it?). And my condolences for not having cool weather…over here, it’s hot (as in “wearing jeans and long-sleeved shirts might get uncomfortable”) no more than three months a year, and I can’t take these months.

    Possibly it’s a blood pressure thing. Or maybe I simply am a winter person.

  23. Tracey D (bl0226)

    When I was younger, we had neighbors we decorated every single room in their house for Christmas… even the bathrooms!

    And they usually had 2 Christmas trees!

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  24. Estella

    I am also interested in the tuna dip.

  25. Mmm. The tuna dip sounds yummy. I am so hungry.

    Thanks,
    Fallon H.

  26. Nancy Gilliland

    I truly wish we only got in the 50’s in the winter months. Our high today was just 48 degrees and no sun until late in the afternoon. Thanksgiving just around the corner, and right on is heels, Christma. Wherehas thetime gone.

  27. Liz Cranage

    My mom decorates every room in her house the front & back yards too. She even puts decorations in the bathrooms. And all of the bedrooms have they’re own Christmas tree that goes with that rooms theme. She’s already been putting up the decorations. She even has Christmas dishes glasses and napkins.

  28. Amy S.

    My favorite thing about cold weather is when it snows, we can make snow cream. It’s so good.

  29. Elaine R

    That is a beautiful cover.

    My youngest and I have our own tradition. Thanksgiving we make marble cheesecake, and for Christmas we make thumprint cookies.

    I live in Colorado, and we get our fair share of snow, but most tends to melt away within 2 days.

  30. Elyane

    “I wish I had colder weather!” I would trade places with you when it gets cold where I am. šŸ˜‰