Kindle Contest Day 8 = Dawn Brown

Please welcome Dawn Brown!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

I love a good snow storm. There’s something very cozy about curling up with hot drink and watching the snow fly outside. Having to shovel out the next day, on the other hand, isn’t quite as pleasant.

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

Probably a good mystery, something that really keeps me guessing and turning the pages. I love paranormals too. I got the True Blood series for my birthday, and I can’t wait to get started on those.

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

I’m a dessert person. Every Christmas I bake empire cookies from grandmother’s recipe. And Christmas is not Christmas without trifle for desert.

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

The first weekend in December my family puts up our Christmas tree. We make all kinds of yummy things to eat and listen to Christmas music. It’s just a really nice way to start the holiday season.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

I decorate a lot. Garland on the banisters, ornaments on every available surface. One year we even strung up Christmas lights in my son’s room, which he loved.

Scavenger Hunt Question:

In Living Lies, how many years have passed since Haley’s sister disappeared?

The answer can be found on Dawn’s website.

Click here to submit your answer.

38 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

38 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 8 = Dawn Brown

  1. I totally want to visit her house at Christmas to see all her fantastic decorations!
    And yay for good snow storms! 🙂

  2. Deb Diez

    I must say since moving up to Upstate New York there is something to say about the traditional snowy Christmas with all the decorations and cookies. For me it’s like living in White Christmas. It’s definitely magical, thanks for sharing.

  3. Amy S.

    We usually put our tree up the day after Thanksgiving. The kids usually help put the ornaments on.

  4. mmmm Trifle…that is totally yummy, but what are Empire cookies? And I am with you on the snow thing. Maybe you’ll get lucky like I did last year and your neighbor will take pity on you and do it for you 🙂

  5. Hi Dawn!

    You are a new to me author and it was fun checking out your site. Living Lies looks wonderful and I just added to my TBR. It is funny but I hear so much about Trifle’s during the holidays. Usually when I am hooked to Food Network, it seems that everyone has one. I have yet to attempt it yet, but they look so yummy! Perhaps something is lots and lots of chocolate. Any good recipies? 😉

    Happy Holidays to all!

    Brande

  6. Hi Dawn, Oh YUMMO! I love trifle. It’s not Christmas without a good trifle :O) That’s a tradition that started in our house, many years ago in Wales, in my Nana’s house. She always made it for us kids who hated Christmas Pudding and Brandy Sauce. Now, though, I’d gobble up either, and be a happy camper.

    Thanks for sharing your Christmas traditions with us, reading all these interviews are sure putting me in the Christmas spirit a bit early this year.

  7. Sherry

    I’m not a cold weather person and I really don’t like snow but I love to sit with a hot drink and a good book. I love to look at peoples decorations but I’m not much on decorating myself I’m not very good at it.

  8. Ahhhh, snowstorms. There is nothing better than sitting all snuggled up and warm, watching fat white flakes fall from the sky….as long as you don’t have to drive it it 🙂 I wish snow only landed on the grass 🙂

    You are a new-to-me author as well. Oooh, romantic suspense. Lovely site!

  9. I’ve always had the tradition of putting lights in my daughter room, as my Mom did for me. 🙂

    I’m giving serious thought to baking some cookies or something to celebrate the tree going up–we’ve never done that before. We usually only have Christmas Music on while we work.

  10. Christine

    I hate when we don’t have snow at Christmas. Considering we have cold for so long, a white Christmas is one of the benefits of living in the cold north. Any year we don’t have snow, its so sad, especially since instead of snow we usually have pathetic brown grass.

  11. Empire cookies? Share the recipe? I love recipes!

  12. Crystal B.

    Dawn’s holiday tradition sounds like ours. 🙂

  13. Lesa

    I admit that I had to google empire cookies, and they look delicious. What a fun tradition!

  14. Joder

    I put up decorations the day after Thanksgiving. I always put something in every room, but try not to go overboard.

  15. Cathy M

    Hi Dawn, I am a dessert person too. My weakness are the glorious pecan bar’s my sister brings every year.

  16. tom m

    Trifle is one of our Christmas traditions too!

  17. yvonne e

    Snowstorms are always more enjoyable if you are inside at the time!

  18. Tia

    What are some of the mysteries you like to read?

  19. Marie t r

    True Blood is a good show although the opening song pictures are a little creepy. I can’t wait to start hearing christmas music which will be pretty soon once thanksgiving is over. I want to hang christmas lights in my room sometime they look so pretty.

  20. chey

    Your decorations sound wonderful! I’ve always wished I had a banister to decorate.

  21. I love mysteries and paranormal as well. Right now, I’m hooked on Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series.

  22. Tameka Green

    I love shape shifter books, paranormal and futuristic books and its has to have alot of sex scenes in it. Lol

  23. Karin

    The first weekend in December is big for my family as well. My parents always have a Christmas Open House to kick off the season. It’s a lot of fun.

  24. Jennifer M

    If you haven’t read the True Blood series yet, you are in for a treat. I had stopped reading vampire books years ago (long before the current PNR craze) but then a friend starting watching the series and recommended the books to me since I don’t have HBO. They were so good that I’m now totally hooked on PNR and UF.

  25. Armenia

    It seems like the start of the Holidays when you start with the Thanksgiving Turkey, and then of course, the Christmas Ham. And with all that…..endless football games.

  26. Maggie Johnson

    Don’t mind snowstorms so long as I am snuggled inside. I haven’t read True Blood Series might have to look into them.I am a dessert person..pumkin pie..yummy.I bet your house looks beautiful.

  27. Estella

    We put up our tree on Dec 1 and take it down the day after Christmas.

  28. Tracey D (bl0226)

    I enjoy watching a beautiful fresh snowfall. I do not like driving in it, though.

    Thanks.

  29. RobynL

    Christmas is coming so better get some decos out and start putting them up. I love this season.

  30. Nancy Gilliland

    What Ienjoy most aboutcold weather is when I’m off work and can snuggle down wit a cup of hot chocolate and a good book, take the phone off the hook and ignore everything but the book.

  31. Thanks everyone for the fantastic comments! I’ve loved reading them.

    For those who asked, empire cookies are two short bread cookies with jam between them and white icing on top. I’ll post my Nana’s recipe on my blog tomorrow.

    http://dawnbrown.org/blog/

  32. Christine Kuczmynda

    My favorite food in the holiday is also a dessert. We make ice cream roll, it’s a choc cake rolled around vanilla ice cream with a hot fudge sauce that’s to die for.

    One of my favorite holiday traditions is wrapping presents with my husband, we always listen to the Beatles Christmas Album.

  33. Fedora

    Mmm… I’ve never had a Christmas trifle, but that sounds delicious! And thanks for the tips about empire cookies–I’ll be sure to check your blog for your Nana’s recipe! And I know my kids would love to have their room decorated especially for Christmas–maybe one of these years I’ll actually be inspired to do it! 😉

  34. s7anna

    Hey Dawn,
    I’ve never heard of empire cookies…But I’m a cookie nut so I’m going to look it up and see if I can make an attempt at making them.

    Happy Thanksgiving

  35. Judith Hulley

    I love sitting inside watching snow storms, too.
    When you don’t have to go about daily every day activities there is nothing nicer. But in reality they are not so practical!

  36. I agree — bring on the snow! I like to get out and play in it… snowshoeing, tobogganing, winter hiking. Oh, and bring on the trifle, too! I sometimes do individual trifles (in wine glasses) made with chunks of flourless chocolate cake, mascarpone cream and mandarin segments, topped with grated orange-flavoured dark chocolate. Will have to try the empire cookies…

  37. Jessica

    I love the snow too, but sadly we hardly ever get any here. It either goes around us or turns into an ice storm(which is not a pleasant experience when the ends of your street are hills). There is nothing better than curling up with a good book and some coffee on a cold snowy day.

  38. Abby

    What kind of books do I curl up with on a cold day? We have very similiar tastes…I enjoy both mysteries and paranormal stories. I want a story that takes me on an adventure (often a break from the snow shoveling for the day) and tells a great story. I think the biggest challenge in reading a book on a cold day is paying attention to the snow – if it keeps falling, it really is best to go in and out and shovel snow in little bits, rather than have a big job at the end. But with a really good book – sometimes it is all too worth it! lol

    Scavenger hunt question: 12 years. Now that looks like a GREAT book!

    🙂 Abby