Kindle Contest Day 9 = J.K. Coi

Please welcome J.K. Coi!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

Honestly, I think I like the clothes the best. I’m a boots and jackets kind of girl, and I love shopping when all the new Fall styles come out. J But not only that, the leaves are beautiful when they’re changing colors, and I love the crisp feeling in the air when the weather starts to turn cold. It fills me with energy and inspiration, and I like to spend much more time outside in the Fall than I do in the heat of summer—which, alternatively, makes me feel tired and sluggish. Maybe I’m just weird, but that’s the way it goes.

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

When I have nothing to do on a cold day but read, I like to cozy up on the couch with a fluffy blanket in front of the fire and read something brand new. It doesn’t really matter what genre, as long as I’m absolutely certain in the author’s ability to give me a satisfying happy ending. Right now I’m holding onto Kelley Armstrong’s Stolen for just that purpose. I loved the first book and I have been looking forward to the second, but I don’t want to read it until I have a chance to read the whole thing front-to-back in as close to one sitting as possible.
3. What is your favorite holiday food?

Christmas cookies! My mother used to make ten to fifteen different kinds of cookies for the holidays. She’d start baking the first weekend of December and everything would go in the freezer until it was time to start entertaining company. You’d think those cookies were the rarest truffles from the way they were rationed, and of course, before I was old enough to reach into the deep freezer I was already sneaking them. Now, I make a bunch of them for my family, and I’m happy to say that they must be good because both my husband and son are famous for stealing them from the freezer throughout the holidays.
4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

In an effort to help my young son understand that Christmas is about more than just the treats and presents, a few years ago I started taking him with me to the senior’s home in our neighborhood during the holiday weekends. It’s has become one of our favorite parts of Christmas because of the people we’ve met and the stories they have to tell. I love that my son is learning from others who have so much to give, and that perhaps we’re bringing a little something to their holiday as well.
5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

Honestly, I was never really one for decorating, but as my son gets older and Christmas becomes a bigger and bigger deal for him, he gets excited about the decorations, and so we put the lights up on the house and a wreath on the door. The last few years I’ve also taken out the ceramic Christmas village that I inherited and set it up along with the fancy Christmas towels and special dishes for the table. Like I said, I didn’t always do it, but I have to admit now that I do, it makes the season feel a little more special.

Scavenger hunt question:

In the excerpt for The Trouble With Destiny on J.K. Coi’s website, what is the hero’s name, and what is he watching on television?

The answer can be found on J.K.’s website.

Click here to submit your answer.

30 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

30 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 9 = J.K. Coi

  1. Judith Hulley

    That is such a great holiday tradition!
    Where every one benefits. Cool.

  2. Hi J.K.
    Those are great traditions, and I am sure you son will come to treasure the memories or your cookies, the time you spend in the senior home, and your decorating just for him when he is older. Have a great holiday and hope Kelly Armstrong’s book lives up to your expectations.

  3. YAY Christmas cookies!!!! Christmas just wouldn’t be the same without them. 😛
    Go her for taking her son to the senior’s home!

  4. I loved Stolen! You won’t be disappointed. 😀

  5. Maggie Johnson

    Hi J.K.
    I started doing Christmas cookies with the boys this yr and its messy and fun!! Thats a awesome idea to teach your son that Christmas is more than presents. My boys and I always put money in the salvation army drop.This yr we are going to add a toy to the marine drop. My boys are helping decorat this year and they are painting ornaments.

  6. Amy S.

    I do love seeing the leaves change in the fall. They are so pretty and I like the colder weather of fall.

  7. Jennifer M

    It is great that you take your son to the seniors home. It is important to teach our kids that people who are older should be respected and have lots of stories and wisdom to share.

  8. Tia

    That is a great tradition that you have started with your son. It is truly a great way to give and receive.

  9. Jessica

    I love christmas cookies. My mom thinks I’m insane because I eat so many.

  10. Lol, I like Christmas cookies, my mom uses a tea cookie recipe, but I think my favorite have to be molasses cookies. Thanks for sharing JK!

  11. Lesa

    I still remember the Christmas treats my mom made when we were little. I love continuing the tradition with my kids. Happy holidays!

  12. Christine

    I save books from writers I love, that I know will be good, until I can fully devote myself to them. Not just the time to read it cover to cover but also a time that I can mentally devote all my energy to them, not when I have a million other things on my own, like buying presents or decorations.

  13. s7anna

    Hey JK,
    I’m with on feeling weird and sluggish during the hot months. Summer is so not my season! I love autumn the most…winter comes as a close second fave. I’m in complete awe of your Mum’s baking abilities…My Mum has never done the baking thing so I’m salivating at the thought of all those yummy cookies that you got to sneak in. 🙂

    Happy Reading

  14. Fedora

    JK! I do love sweater weather! As much as I like summer, I love when we can bundle up a little and not overheat when we walk to school! And I know what you mean about saving certain reads for times when you can gorge on them–some books are just hard to put down, and it’s such a luxury to enjoy them straight through!

    Yay for your Christmas baking! I used to bake more, but have been taking a break since our kids have been little. Time to get back into some baking from scratch! And I would freeze some, but our freezer isn’t nearly big enough!!

    Thanks for visiting!

  15. Joder

    Yeah, Christmas cookies are the best! They’re like potato chips, you can’t eat just one.

  16. tom m

    I remember sneaking Christmas cookies from the freezer as a kid!

  17. yvonne e

    What a nice Christmas tradition you have with your son!

  18. chey

    Your ceramic Christmas village sounds nice. I wish I had room to set one up!

  19. Cathy M

    We get 3 dozen home made sugar cookies in Christmas cutouts from my mil every year. Something about the snowman, always tastes the best to me, lol.

  20. Armenia

    Hi JK,
    My favorite is Christmas cookies, too. Its the only time I can make any kind of cookie guilt free.

  21. Estella

    I love Christmas cookies. Christmas is the only time of the year I bake cookies.

  22. Tracey D (bl0226)

    I think it’s great you take your son to a senior home. I’m sure the residents enjoy the attention because so many of them are lonely.

    Thanks.

  23. Taking your son to the nursing home is a great idea. I remember being in church group when I was still in elementary school and going to the nursing homes in the area and singing Christmas carols.

  24. Marie t r

    I love shopping for new clothes too when it gets cold it’s one of the best parts. I wish I decorated more often it would liven things up where I’m living. It is nice to just sit down and read a good book I can’t wait till I have time to do that.

  25. Hey everybody!! Thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you all like the idea of christmas cookies. I’m always looking for new recipes, so if anyone wants to share…

  26. Deb Diez

    Christmas Cookies are great, for years I’ve tried just about every recipe I could get my hands on. A couple years ago my neighbors and I decided to get together and do a cookie exchange. Talk about heaven. Now there are about ten of us who get together and exchange our favorites as well as make truffles together. Now I only have to make my kid’s favorite recipe, old fashion orange cookies and I have the sampler plate.

  27. Tameka Green

    This holiday I’m feeling very sluggish n blotted .I think I’ve eating everything plus the kitchen sink. I feel so guilty yeh right!!! Lol!!

  28. Hi everyone!
    I have to say I agree with you J.K. my son is only two but I know as he gets older that I will have to get more in the spirit and I don’t want him to be such a scrooge like me, but to enjoy the lights and decoration, and festivities as he should!

    Brande

  29. RobynL

    how wonderful that you have started this with your son on taking him with you. He can learn a lot from this.

    you know I love frozen cookies or baking also. Dunking cookies into coffee is an awesome experience which I love.

    yourstrulee(at)sasktel(dot)net

  30. Phyllis

    I just got back from my Thanksgiving trip, and I had to run over here to your contest. 🙂

    I love the Christmas tradition answer! I’m always looking for anything that points to the true meaning of Christmas.