Kindle Contest Day 10 = Cheryel Hutton

Please welcome Cheryel Hutton!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

Actually, Fall is my favorite season. I always loved going back to school (yes, I’m a nerd, I admit it). I love the crisp, cool air that seems to call to me to come out and breathe deep. I love the gorgeous colors of the trees. I love Halloween too. It’s a fun holiday and all the creepy movies I love tend to run in October (and into November). When it’s cool outside, the warm house seems more welcoming than a cool house in summer. It’s a time to curl up with your favorite hot drinks and read, read, read. I absolutely love this time of year!


2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

I read a variety of fiction and nonfiction, but my favorites are paranormal romance and     romantic suspense.

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

My mom’s desserts, any of them. And my daughter’s pumpkin rolls. Yum!


4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Spending time with family. We’re all so busy we don’t see each other much the rest of the year. That, and all the desserts. Yum!


5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

I’m supposed to decorate?

Seriously, as much as I enjoy looking at all the decorations, I don’t put up many myself. I care more about the little things, the faith the season represents, and being with people I love.

My daughters are grown and doing their own thing, and we do have some religious diversity in our family. What tends to happen is that my husband and I reshape traditions to make our own way of doing things. Then we go to other people’s houses and celebrate their way of doing things. It’s fun and makes for an interesting holiday season.

Recently some of our family has reconnected after being apart for several years. I’m very hopeful this will make the holidays even more special.

Here’s hoping for the best holiday season ever, for all of us!

Scavenger Hunt Question:

What is the title of the free short story on Cheryel’s website?

The answer can be found on Cheryel’s website.

Click here to submit your answer.

28 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

28 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 10 = Cheryel Hutton

  1. fallon hadley

    I hope your family will have a wonderful holiday. I know from experience it can be hard to reconnect but it can be very rewarding.

    Thanks for spending time with us.

    Fallon Hadley

  2. Deb Diez

    Fall is my favorite season with the cooler weather and the school bound activities. It’s great to watch nature settle in for the winter. I actually like raking leaves.
    Thanks for spending time with us, and I hope you have a memorable and rewarding holiday season.

  3. Phyllis

    “I care more about the little things, the faith the season represents, and being with people I love.” My sentiments exactly! 🙂

  4. Amy S.

    Fall and Spring are my fave seasons. I do like watching all the scary shows in October.

  5. Judith Hulley

    I love this time of year, also.
    Cold outside & warm as toast inside. So many great holiday celebrations with family this time of year. Fun!

  6. Tamara

    I always loved going back to school too! Then again, I was also a nerd 🙂

    Wishing your family a wonderful holiday season.

  7. Hi Cheryel,

    Yum Pumkin rolls! That sounds delicious!!!! I too love fall, jean and t-shirt weather and the leaves are amazing, especially in New England. That is wonderful about your family, especially with the holidays near!
    -Brande

  8. I’ve never heard of pumpkin rolls, sounds yummy!!

    Winter and Fall are my favorite season because I love bundled up in against the cold. I also love being smothered by my blanket while I read late a night. 😉

  9. Jennifer M

    I love all things pumpkin, so I’m trying to figure out exactly what pumpkin rolls are. Are they a sweet treat, or are they more savory?

  10. Tia

    For many of the reasons you listed, minus going back to school, autumn is my favorite season. Does this season tend to bring about changes in your writing habits?

  11. Karin

    I love your reasons for enjoying the fall season. Going back to school and the cool, crisp air are some of my favorite things about fall and winter.

  12. Joder

    Yes, I’m a big fan of pumpkin too. Pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin bread, and pumpkin pie are easy ways to bribe me to do anything.

  13. Maggie Johnson

    I love fall..all the leaves changing colors so pretty.
    Pumpkin Rolls..yummy! Reconnecting with family is so wonderful!! Hope you have a great time with them.

  14. Christine

    I’ve like fall too, partly for going back to school and getting to read and write again (I had to spend all my summer playing sports and that was definitely not the place I wanted to be) but I also like it for the clothes. I love lumpy sweaters and jackets, feeling warm and cozy all the time. Its much better than the sweltering heat of summer.

  15. Armenia

    Its great to reconnect with family members after so many years apart. And making it during the holidays makes it so much more memorable.

  16. Marie t r

    I agree about going back to school it is a fun time seeing all your friends again. And Halloween is so much fun especially coming up with creative costumes except I usually just dress up as little red riding hood. I wish I got to spend more time with my family but since I moved I don’t have much time.

  17. Tameka Green

    Summer is favirute season but Christmas is my favorite holiday. I just love how everyone is more kinder around the Christmas holiday’s.

  18. Cathy M

    Fall and Spring are my favorite seasons. Love that I still get to wear my sweats and sandals.

  19. Tracey D (bl0226)

    Oh, pumpkin rolls. Are those the ones that are like a cake (baked in a jelly roll pan) with cream cheese filling and then rolled up?

    If so, those are really good….I need to find that recipe.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  20. tom m

    We had a good fall here this year. It’s much more enjoyable when there’s no snow!

  21. yvonne e

    I enjoy the Christmas desserts too!

  22. Estella

    Fall is also my favorite season. I love the cooler weather, the changing color of the leaves and football.

  23. yvonne e

    It’s great that some of your family has reconnected! Have a great holiday season.

  24. chey

    Spending time with family is a wonderful part of the Christmas season.

  25. Lesa

    I love fall for the changing temps, falling leaves, chance to snuggle in with a cup of hot tea and a great new read! I will certainly be enjoying Cheryel Hutton’s short story very soon. Thank you.

  26. s7anna

    Hi Cheryel,
    Fall is my fave season…I too love the cold crisp air…the beautiful colours of the fall foliage…I’m guilty of anticipating going back to school as well…at least when I used to go to school…I looked forward to stocking up on new stationery & getting all my school gear ready for the new year.

    Happy Reading

  27. Fedora

    Hi, Cheryel! I enjoy this time of year, too–I like the cooler weather and that we enjoy wearing sweaters 🙂 And as much as I love summer, I don’t love being hot. Fortunately the weather where we are is pretty lovely even now, so our family enjoys walking to school in the fall! I’m glad to hear about your more recent reconnections–this is such a special time of year to enjoy with family, friends, and extended family! May your holidays be blessed!

  28. Jessica

    I love the cooler weather too, but most of all I love the longer nights.