Kindle Contest Day 11 – Rita Oberlies

Please welcome Rita!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

As a northeast gal there is nothing I love more than a big snowstorm.  With two young boys my favorite thing in the winter is waking up in the morning and finding out school has been cancelled due to the weather.  I get more excited now than when I was a kid!

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

If I’m curled up in front of my fireplace on a cold day I want a book that’s going to last.  It can be romance, suspense, or even a mystery but it has to be at least three hundred pages.  In today’s market that’s not always easy to find.  Sometimes that means I pull an old favorite like Judith McNaught off of my bookshelf.

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

Can I say dessert?  Seriously, if it’s sweet and festively decorated I’m going to devour it over the holidays.  I totally support the tradition of gaining five pounds between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day.

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Other than the aforementioned weight gain, I would have to say hanging out with family and friends on Christmas Eve watching It’s a Wonderful Life, eating homemade fudge and nipping at a bottle of Baileys.  Hmmm…I guess it’s no surprise why my pants are snug in January.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

Too much.  Years ago I started a Nutcracker collection.  It took on a life of its own when people starting buying them for me as gifts.  Now it has reached the point where I have no where to display them all.  When you add in the Christmas tree, Nativity scene, snow globes, window candles, musical snowmen, stockings — I’m exhausted just thinking about it!

Scavenger Hunt Question:

What university did Rita graduate from?

The answer can be found on Rita’s website.

Click here to submit your answer.

36 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

36 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 11 – Rita Oberlies

  1. Now that’s a good answer! What kind of book to curl up with on a cold day? A long one! I agree. Although, how do you do that with small children around? 🙂

  2. Yay for watching It’s a Wonderful Life! I think it should be a tradition in any familY! And also – YUM christmas dessert! The best!

  3. It does seem difficult to find longer books these days. As a teenager I read books that were 800 pages+

    Oh, and I think all the yummy holiday desserts are worth the extra weight. Besides we need the insulation during the winter months. 😉 Hehe

  4. I love It’s a Wonderful Life as well. It is just a classic, I think they should play that one TV more than they do A Christmas Story 😉 I am a Boston girl as well ;-))

    Brande

  5. Amy S.

    I love watching all the Christmas movies with my family. We watched Christmas Vacation last night. That’s my one of my favorites.

  6. Elyane

    Watching it’s a wonderful life at Christmas and the sound of music on new years. That’s one of the things I remember most about my childhood.

  7. Rhonda Barnes

    Christmas is my favorite time of year! Although my 2 girls are grown now, we still get together to bake and decorate Christmas cookies. and decorate the tree. I love the smell of a fresh pine tree!

    Blessings,
    Rhonda

  8. LOL, I remember when I was a kid growing up in Rhode Island and my brothers and sisters waiting for the announcement that school was cancelled. Of course, my mom would groan.

  9. LOL…I can totally understand the 5 lb holiday tradition. And like you, I find it sad that it’s hard to find good books over 300 pgs these days….it’s almost like they’re all novellas now 😦 I think that is especially true of digital books.

  10. jennifer mathis

    I too decorate far to much. This year I had to start on Thanksgiving and I’m not even close to done

  11. Deb Diez

    Gotta love Traditions. We watch White Christmas and Sound of Music. This year I want to try Miracle on 34th Street.
    You’re right about good books over 300 pages, any good ones you’ve found lately?

  12. Jennifer M

    Snow Days! Those are nonexistent here in California, but that brings back memories of growing up in New Jersey and running into my brother’s room in the morning to listen to the radio to see if they would call our school number.

  13. yvonne e

    I’ve got to agree with you. Holiday desserts ar the best!

  14. Joder

    My biggest thrill is watching A Christmas Story. Since I detest the cold I’ve been known to put on just as many layers as Randy does and I too couldn’t put my arms down.

  15. tom m

    I like the longer books too. Harder to find these days.

  16. Maggie Johnson

    I have to young boys and I can honestly say I get more excited when school is cancelled than the boys…lol
    Desserts are awesome ,my favorite is pumpkin.My boys and I love watching the 25 days of Christmas,different ones.

  17. chey

    The best part for me about the Season is visiting with family and friends.

  18. Judith Hulley

    Oh yes. Curled up in front of the fire with a good long Romantic suspense and don’t forget the Baileys.
    Mmmmm I love the Holidays.

  19. s7anna

    I’m a dessert lover like you Rita. Holidays are all about the sweet baked goodies that really like settling around my hips…LOL I have to say that the best part of winter is snuggling with a great book and just reading away for hours.

    Happy Reading

  20. Tia

    Love to hear that there are others out there that love the desserts. There are eleven months to work them off and do it all over again.

  21. Christine

    I love its a wonderful life as well. I love to watch it on a cold night, snow on the group outside, dark and quiet besides the movie. I completely agree it should be played more often than Christmas time. It has such a great message that we can use all year round and the Christmas elment in it is slight. Its not like its Santa is Coming to Town or anything that Christmas specific.

  22. Fedora

    Hi, Rita! I’m giggling over your ginormous Nutcracker collection–while it’s fun initially, sometimes these “themes” get out of control and people get a little carried away 🙂 Is your collection still growing?

    And I love the idea of curling up with a tome on blustery days! It’s hard to find the time though. Some of the bigger volumes still on my TBR include a couple by Jennifer Donnelly. I think I have The Tea Rose and The Winter Rose. My brother-in-law keeps recommending the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan, but since it’s at 12 lengthy volumes with another several chunks to go, I’m not going there! I just had a friend recommend Brandon Sanderson’s Elantris (he’s finishing Mr. Jordan’s WoT for him), but haven’t had time to pick that up!

    Hope you find some extended time for cozy reading this season, Rita!!

  23. fallon hadley

    I’m with you on the dessert. It doesn’t even have to be a holiday. Just give me the sweet stuff and I am good.

    Thanks,
    Fallon Hadley

  24. Cathy M

    I have an angel collection that friends keep adding to every year. So far, I probably have about 22 that I have to find a home for every year.

  25. Nancy Gilliland

    I’m the corny traditionalist in the family. I watch all of the holiday specials, and I never ever miss It’s a Wonderful Life. And I still cry over it, too.

  26. Estella

    I, too, like the longer books on a cold winter day.

  27. char c

    there’s nothing better than curling up to a good mystery on a cold day.dana stabenow’s kate shugak mysteries or the face down mysteries by katy lynn emerson are favorites of mine.

  28. Tracey D (bl0226)

    I heard on the radio lat week that people only gain a pound during the holidays; I don’t believe that. Last year they said 5 – 10 pounds, this year 1 pound…bah!

    I enjoy all the good food during the holidays and pay for it later!

  29. Thanks for stopping by today 🙂 I hope the holiday season brings each of you endless reasons to smile.

    I’m off to find my Kindle — time to download a nice, long book!!!

    Rita

  30. Tameka Green

    I love the musical White Christmas with the theme song I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas. It’s my favorite I get a little misty eyed evertime I think of it. Lol

  31. Hi Rita!! So great to meet you and hear about your books! Reading so helps me get through the holidays. I love reading your questions. I honestly haven’t done anything for the holidays in a few years, so most of my holidays is with my friends online and its great to have them. I do love to watch Its A Wonderful Life and I plan to watch a few old movies of the holidays that I haven’t in a while, like White Christmas!

  32. Rita, I also love to watch It’s A Wonderful both versions.
    I love that picture on you home page. Ok I have to say it since you are in the Big East with us.
    GO MOUNTAINEERS!!!!!

  33. Opps that was supposed to be It’s A Wonderful Life both versions.
    Zina

  34. Lesa

    I love to college snowmen and display them for the holidays. I have to limit my passion or we would be overrun.

    Happy holidays!

  35. RobynL

    I bake, wrap gifts, and have a Nutcracker collection.
    We put up a blow up snowman and 2 lighted reindeer outside.

    yourstrulee(at)sasktel(dot)net

  36. Carol Thompson

    Answer: Villanova University

    It is really amazing how collecting specific things can get out of hand.

    It seems most of us are subject to that kind of thing.

    With me, I collect like mad and then 2 or 3 years diwn the line I look at my collections and think “What am I going to do with all of these ?”

    So they end up in boxes in the attic !