Kindle Contest Day 13 – Leah Braemel

Please welcome Leah!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

Hmm, this is a tough question because even though I’m a Canuck, I don’t like cold weather. I guess the only thing I like about it is that it gives me a reason to stay inside and read. Now if you’d asked me what my least favorite thing was, I could give you a whole list …

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

I love curling up with a romance that take place in a warm setting. Even Texas in December is warmer than where I live in Canada.

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

Pizza cookies – it’s not technically a holiday food, but is around this house simply because I only make them at Christmas. (It’s cookie dough that’s cooked as one large cookie in a pizza pan, then iced and sliced into wedges like a pizza)

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

The Present Hunt.Β  My sons are older now, and now they don’t believe in Santa *gasp* we try to keep some of the fun in opening the presents by choosing one victim, I mean lucky recipient each year and hide their present. Instead of a present, they receive a card or something in their stocking that contains a clue that will lead them to another clue and another clue, and they end up having to hunt through the entire house to find their actual present.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

A lot! When my mother used to come to visit, she would say it looked like the Christmas Factory exploded at my place. Since she used to work at a Christmas decorations factory, I figured she knew what she was talking about. Tinsel, home sewn ornaments, hand-painted ornaments, Christmas trees – large or small – in every room, garland on all the doorways, dancing Santas, we’re into decorating the place in a big way.

Scavenger Hunt Question:

Which of Leah’s stories takes place on New Year’s Eve?

The answer can be found on Leah’s website.

Click here to submit your answer.

41 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

41 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 13 – Leah Braemel

  1. RobynL

    many years my Mom and my sisters and I would get together to make a Christmas decoration.

  2. fallon hadley

    That is a great idea. A Christmans Scavenger Hunt. My daughter is 16 now and that would be a hoot!

    Thanks,
    Fallon Hadley

  3. pizza cookies – that sounds AWESOME! I want one! I’m totally going to have to try to make me one!

  4. The scavenger hunt sounds fun! I always let my daughter open 1 present on Christmas Eve, just like I did as a child. πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Leah,
    I don’t know how you have time to do all of that decorating and still get anything else done πŸ™‚ The pizza cookie sounds absolutely decadant….and btw what’s a Canuck? I know you are from Canada, but….anyways Happy Holidays!

  6. Maggie Johnson

    Pizza cookies sound very good and my boys would love them.Scavenger hunt sounds like alot of fun,my boys still believe so maybe when they don’t I have to think of something like that to do. My sister and I would get together and paint Christmas bulbs with the kids names and us adults but we have not done it since our mom died 3 yrs ago maybe its time to start it again.

  7. Judith Hulley

    The Present Hunt sounds like such good fun.
    Pizza cookies sound good, also, but I can see the ‘slices’
    of cookies getting bigger as the Kids and Men get hold of it!

  8. Deb Diez

    Thanks so much for the Present Hunt idea. That’ just perfect. Perhaps instead of trying it out on the kids first, I’ll try it out on the Hubby, might make the holidays more fun for the adults. πŸ˜‰

  9. april strength

    pizza cookies do sound amazing and i think every house looks like the decorations exploded but thats what i love about it. all the different colored lights, music, tree trimming (it the only time of year everything is an organized mess on purpose lol πŸ˜‰

  10. Hi Leah!!!

    I am so loving your Chrismas Day hunt! How great is that. Make them work for it ;-))

    Brande

  11. Amy S.

    That’s a neat holiday tradition. I would never have thought of doing that. My nieces and nephew love hide and seek so might have to try it this year.

  12. I can’t wait to hear what the guys come up with this year. Last year was a hoot! And what Christmas goodies will Leah make for the holidays?

  13. Fedora

    Hi, Leah!! Pizza cookies do sound delicious–that might be able to handle πŸ™‚ As for the scavenger hunt, that does sound like fun, but quite a bit of planning for you! I’m not sure I’d manage ;p And LOL on being able to outdo the decorations at a Christmas Factory–impressive indeed!

  14. Tia

    We are so trying the pizza cookies this year. Thanks for the tip.

  15. chey

    Hi Leah,
    I agree with you about what to read in the cold weather. I always save my books with warm locations for winter reading.

  16. yvonne e

    The present hunt sounds like so much fun!

  17. tom m

    The pizza cookies sound wonderful.

  18. Phyllis

    My favorite part of these interviews is hearing about each author’s traditions. This one sounds really fun!

  19. Hi, everyone!

    I’ll have to put the Pizza Cookie recipe up on my blog to share with everyone (Sunday maybe). It’s got lots of cream cheese and sugar and all that bad stuff πŸ˜‰

    My kids get as big a kick out of pulling the present hunt on the adults as when it gets pulled on them. I don’t know who gets more fun out of it – us when we’re writing the clues and hiding the presents, or the person who is having to follow the clues. It puts that fun back into Christmas morning that slowed down once the boys were older.

  20. Armenia

    The Present hunt…that’s a wonderful idea. I bet that lasts more than customary 20 seconds to rip open a present. I love it !!

  21. Crystal B.

    I love the idea of a present hunt. Sounds like a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

  22. Jennifer M

    I’m looking forward to the Pizza cookie recipe. I was picturing a big sugar cookie cut into wedges, but if it’s got cream cheese in it, that sounds even better.

  23. s7anna

    Hey Leah,
    Pizza cookies are a great thing aren’t they…I especially love the chocolate chip version…
    I love the idea of the scavenger hunt although I’m pretty sure I’d get pretty ticked off if I didn’t find it almost right away LOL
    victim would be right word for it…

    Happy Reading

  24. Jessica

    Now I’ll have to talk my mom into making pizza cookies. MMM cookies.

  25. I love Cmas decorations too, and we they have exploded at our house:) I have two teens, and one 9 year old daughter who I think still believes in Santa, but she’s suspicious so it may be the last year. So sad…

  26. Christine

    My parents did scavanger hunts for our birthdays when I was a kid, but those were single person events. A Christmas scavenger hunt sounds like fun but I don’t understand how you can do it for just one person. What does everyone else do? Being part of a big family I find it hard to image one person running around for their presents while everyone else opens theres or follows them around while they find their present only to be left out when the present opening happens later.

  27. jennifer mathis

    the present hunt sounds like great fun have to do that to hubby this year lol

  28. Elyane

    It always make me smile to know that most Canucks like me wish to be somewhere warm in winter or Christmas and that most people in warm places would like to have a white winter or Christmas.
    Love your idea of present hunt.

  29. Joder

    Those cookies sound good!

  30. Kathy C

    I love the Present Hunt idea. I remember when I got to that age finding my present and actually unwrapping them, checking them out and wrapping them back up! It’s a wonder I got any presents at all after that.

  31. Cathy M

    Hi Leah, what a great blog. I love the idea of The Present Hunt.

  32. Estella

    Your scavanger hunt sounds like fun!

  33. lora strength

    i absolutely love the the present hunt idea. i have 2 grown kid and i would love to see the look on there faces if i told them they had to find them (i’m going to make it so hard lol i can’t wait) thanks for the great idea

  34. Tracey D (bl0226)

    I love the pizza cookies with a layer of cream cheese and then topped with fresh fruit. YUMMY!

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  35. Janet H

    I never thought about hiding the presents. My crew loves to take a tiny present, wrap it and put it in a bigger box. They keep going until they have a huge box. Maybe they get tired of wrapping.

  36. Marie t r

    Mmmm… pizza cookies sound delicious. I love going to houses that look like a decoration factory exploded in them it get’s you in the spirit for the holidays. Sometimes it so hard to find the perfect present but when you do it’s really great.

  37. Sherry

    Your pizza cookies sound very good if I could get my mom or my sister to make them for me sounds even better. I also like your present hunt I think the children in my family would turn on us if we tried it though.

  38. Lisa

    I love the Present Hunt idea. Make the kids scramble around for their gifts would be great. What a wonderful way to make them think Santa’s elves helped him deliver the presents!

  39. I like the present hunt, we do that for Easter Baskets.
    Zina

  40. Tameka Green

    That’s a great idea for dessert I just bake a lot of cokkies during the holiday. I love making chocolate chip cookies with chocolate covered almond n cashews inside yummie!!!! Lol

  41. Rhonda Barnes

    I’m with you, Leah! I hate the cold but I love the snow! Your pizza cookie sounds really good, too. Have a fantastic Christmas!

    Blessings,
    Rhonda