Kindle Contest Day 16 – Kimberly Nee

Please welcome Kimberly!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

I have two favorites, actually. I love the snow, I love playing in it with my kids – I get to be a kid again and be a silly as I want, and I’m always in awe of how quiet the world seems to be when it’s snowing. Oh, and it’s my favorite time of year, because it’s the holiday season, which I love as well.

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

I read mostly historical romances, but I also enjoy biographies, and history – especially anything pertaining to the American Revolution or D-Day (WWII).

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

My mom’s stuffing – it’s an old family recipe and it was passed on to me last year, when I inherited Thanksgiving as MY holiday. 😀

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

My mom holds an open house on Christmas Eve. It used to be a huge thing, but over the years, it’s shrunk to just immediate family – but since we all have different places to be on Christmas, it’s a chance for my kids to do gifts with their aunts and uncles and cousins and vice versa.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

I love the holiday season, so I go all out – but I don’t think I’ve crossed into Clark Griswold territory yet (if you don’t know who Clark Griswold is, rentNational Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation – that’ll clear up any confusion.) This is my favorite time of year, so I enjoy it as much as I can.

Scavenger Hunt Question:

What project does Kimberly have on hold and why?

The answer can be found on Kimberly’s blog.

Click here to submit your answer.

30 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

30 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 16 – Kimberly Nee

  1. I’ve always wondered what exactly is a Christmas open house. I don’t think I get the concept.
    Playing in the snow really is so much fun! I miss snow!

  2. Phyllis

    I’m happy to “meet” another snow lover! We’ve spent the past few days, out playing in snow here. 🙂

  3. Maggie Johnson

    Fall is my favorite time of year…only good thing about winter is being able to wear my sweaters.Love the idea of your Moms open house for Christmas.We watch that movie every year.

  4. Me, I like watching the snow from inside by a warm cozy fire. when we were kids it seemed like we would play out in the snow for hours….now though I don’t like it so much 🙂 Thanks for sharing your memories.

  5. Rhonda Barnes

    Christmas Eve “Open house” is always at my house. The immediate family gets together to exchange presents, eat goodies, and generally have a fantastic time. I’m looking forward to it this year because we have a new baby granddaughter!

    God Bless,
    Rhonda

  6. You love the snow, huh? I was raised in MN but now live in the desert. . . . . I so do NOT miss the snow. LOL.

    It is weird to have Christmas lights on cactus and around the trunks of palm trees. — But, if I can wear shorts and a T-shirt in December. . . I’ll take it.

    🙂

  7. april strength

    I love the snow but i’ve lived in fl. my whole life so i don’t think i’d want to live in it. and as for open house x-mas eve we have it every year and everyone always has an amazing time its my favaorite part of the holidays.

  8. My daughter is making a wish that it might snow here for Christmas. I don’t have the heart to tell her it never snows on Christmas in Georgia, but I can always hope. 😉

    It would be so much fun to play outside with her, throwing snowballs and building snowmen.

  9. fallon hadley

    I love to read WW2 biographies. I actually think I was born in the wrong time.
    I’m not sure what draws me so much to that period. The clothes, the unity of a country coming together, women joining the work force.
    I find it facinating to read.

    Thanks,
    Fallon Hadley

  10. Fedora

    What a lovely get-together your mom hosts on Christmas Eve! I love the idea of being able to get everyone together to enjoy the holiday together, but can’t imagine the work involved in doing such a thing myself! I don’t think I’ve read too many books pertaining to WWII–it would be neat to read some romances set during those times!

  11. s7anna

    I’m a huge fan of winter…I love the crisp cold air…the sense of cleansing you feel by looking at all the pristine snow…of course this is before it turns to dirty wet slush…at which point you curse the skies 😛
    There’s a blizzard going on outside as I type this and boy am I glad that I’m inside at this moment. It looks really pretty but it would totally suck if I had to go out this instant.

    Happy Holidays

  12. tom m

    Playing in the snow with the kids is the most fun part of winter! And warming up in front of the fire with hot chocolate when we come back inside!

  13. oh, I like the open house idea! The the snow with your kids! It isn’t christmas season without a little snow!

  14. yvonne e

    Your mom’s open house sounds great. It’s so nice to get together with family over the holidays!

  15. chey

    I like the quiet of the snowfall and when it looks pretty like a snow globe after it’s been shaken.

  16. Amy S.

    We like to take the nieces and nephew sledding when it’s a really big snow. They have so much fun.

  17. Jennifer M

    I’m rarely in the snow anymore, but I do miss the silence of a snowfall. It’s like the world is just holding its breath and everything is fresh, clean, and new.

  18. kimberly nee

    Hi everyone!

    I’m hoping we have a white Christmas – the woods behind my house would look so pretty!

    My mom’s Christmas Eve open house is pretty much open to family and friends, and there’s no RSVP required. She cooks all day, sets everything out buffet style, and we eat and laugh and drink a LOT of wassail (apple cider spiked with a vodka and brandy – it’s AWESOME!) It’s also a chance for my kids and my brother’s daughter to see each other, since Christmas Day has us going separate directions.

    I don’t know what it is about either time period, but I swear I was born in the wrong decade (possibly the wrong century! :D) as well!

  19. Tia

    When you said your mom holds an open house, you’re talking about extended family and friends right? Because if it’s the neighborhood, I couldn’t even begin to think of that many people in the house.

  20. Karin

    I love your answer about your favorite thing about the colder weather. I love being able to play around in the snow like a little kid again as well. In fact, at the very end of October, it snowed so much here that my work was closed and I spent a few hours taking my niece and nephew sledding on a nearby hill with my sister. We had as much, if not more, fun as the kids did sledding.

  21. Joder

    I like the idea of an open house. What a great way to bring people together!

  22. One of the neighbors is having an open house party with as many friends and family can come it’s so much fun. Santa comes for the kids and we eat so much we just about explode. It’s a Christmas tradition we can’t see doing without.

  23. sherry

    I’m not much for snow myself I like fall weather the best, it honestly wouldn’t bother me if it didn’t ever snow where I live again I can’t drive in it. Stuffing is my favorite too I can be happy with just that.

  24. kimberly nee

    @Tia – It’s usually family and close friends, but it’s one of those neighborhoods where everyone knows each other (my mom’s been in it for almost 60 years and my husband and I bought a house right around the corner from her) so, we never really know who might show up.

    @Deb – one of our neighbors is doing the same thing this year – my kids can’t wait to see Santa!

    @Sherry – I love the fall as well – we get some spectacular colors in the leaves. This year especially!

  25. Christine

    I used to love to shovel the drive way when I was a kid. It would take me hours but I would just love being out playing and mutzing in the snow. Now its a chore. I definitely wish I could still recapture that kid feeling while I was shoveling my driveway.

  26. Cathy M

    I don’t get snow where I live, but I do get to look out over the snow capped mountains in the distance, which is really beautiful this time of year.

  27. Tracey D (bl0226)

    I just love stuffing especially made with oysters.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  28. Marie t r

    I have to disagree about he snow it’s nice to look at it from inside but when you have to walk to class in it, it is not fun. I miss stuffing from thanksgiving it’s delicious, sigh if only there were more food holidays.

  29. Lesa

    We also have a Christmas Eve tradition with extended family. Christmas Day then works for those with other family close by (like my brothers’ wives).

    Happy holidays!

  30. Tameka Green

    I love candied yams and the spiked eggnog drink it is so deliciously good. I’m getting drunk just thinking about it. Lol