Kindle Contest Day 17 – Joely Sue Burkhart

Please welcome Joely!

1. What is your favorite thing about the colder weather?

Cuddling up beneath a blanket with a cup of coffee in one hand and a book (or my iPhone so I can read electronically) in the other!

2. What kind of books do you like to curl up with on a cold day?

I love to read all sorts of romance any time of the year, but frosty days certainly do invite the idea of sharing body heat.

3. What is your favorite holiday food?

I adore homemade bread, everything from basic rustic white to fancier holiday breads with fruit and nuts.

4. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Family time with the monsters, ages 9, 7, and 6. We always read the Christmas story in detail before they can open any of their gifts.

5. Be honest, how much do you decorate for the holidays?

We do a tree and some interior decorations, but we don’t really do much outside the house. If I put a wreath on the door, it might stay there until Easter forces me to take it down.

Scavenger Hunt Question:

Who is the hero of the next “The Connaghers” book?

The answer can be found on Joely’s website.

Click here to submit your answer.

41 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors, Contest!, Samhain Publishing

41 responses to “Kindle Contest Day 17 – Joely Sue Burkhart

  1. fallon hadley

    My mother makes all types of bread during the holidays. It’s one of those memories you keep of someone tucked away in that special place, saved for when that person is no longer there.

    Watching her bake, listening to her childhood memories, and being the “Official Taste Tester”, is a treat that I will cherish for a long time.

    Thanks,
    Fallon Hadley

  2. Phyllis

    Family time! Yes, that’s the best tradition of all. πŸ™‚

  3. Amy S.

    My mom makes Pumpkin Bread for the holidays. It’s so good.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Kindle Contest Day 17 – Joely Sue Burkhart Β« Editortera’s Blog -- Topsy.com

  5. Pingback: Twitted by Susi_Sunshine

  6. Yum! That bread sounds amazing! I can’t believe that you get through a whole story before presents. I really like that idea!

    Brande

  7. Hey hon,
    that’s so mean to torture the kiddies with waiting. LOL
    And I agree I love to snuggle in bed with coffee and a book too.
    Have a nice day!
    Susi

  8. Maggie Johnson

    I cuddle under a blanket with a good cup of coffee on a cold day is a great winter thing to do. I read all kinds too anytime of the year.The homemade gread sounds good.
    Family time is the best.

  9. Rhonda Barnes

    My husband bought me a bread machine a few years ago. I love experimenting with different bread recipes, especially around the holidays. Have a great Christmas!

    Blessings,
    Rhonda

  10. That’s so fun that they read the Christmas story in detail before getting to open any of their gifts! What a GREAT tradition!!!!

  11. Homemade bread….yummmm. I know what I’m getting while I’m out shopping today. I love the smell of it when you first bring it out of the oven! πŸ™‚

  12. That answer to Q number 1 is sooo me too. I am not a cold wheather type of girl and that is the only thing I love about the cold wheater. Of course it would be even more great if we didn’t have to go outside every once in a while and face the cold…

    Loved reading about your holiday faves and traditions.

  13. I argee with you, there is something about homemade bread. Heck even the fresh, hot, oven-baked bread from the store is always half gone by the time my family gets home. One time, my husband and I went shopping and bought bread, when he grabbed butter at the store I told him we had plenty at home. He looked at me and said, “It’s for the ride home with the bread.” We had to buy two loaves that day, just so we could have some that night at home. And I don’t allow him to buy anymore butter.

  14. Christine

    Sometimes at the holidays it seems like we have more breads than other items. Banana Bread, Cranberry Bread, rolls and more rolls. They are definitely associated with the holiday’s for me, and I agree quite yummy. Thankfully its only this time of year we have so many breads available, otherwise I’d be twice the size.

  15. april strength

    Ya i use to love to torment my niece and nephew the same way every year unforturnately they’re all but grown up now (boo hoo) i’ll have to think of other way to torcher my family (its half the fun of holidays) πŸ™‚

  16. Fallon, I love the “official taste tester” idea – I need to start that with the monsters! They’d love it.

    Thanks, Phyllis and Pearl, I totally agree! Family time makes the holidays for us.

    Amy, that sounds delish!

    Brande, Susi, Audrey, April: it’s hilarious to watch them writhe in agony before opening presents! Especially if we have the youngest read the Bible. πŸ™‚

    Maggie, Rhonda, Amanda, Christine: now I’m really getting hungry for bread…think I need to make some today!

  17. Oh, Deb, that is totally something we’d do! We’ve definitely eaten hot fresh bread from our local bakery in the car — although we skipped the butter.

  18. sherry

    I love to cover up with a blanket and have a hot cup of coffee and read a good book. It’s one of the things I do all the time.

  19. Yay, another book, coffee, blankie lover! Thanks for participating, Sherry!

  20. yvonne e

    Oh those homemade breads! Plain and fancy, I love them all!

  21. My sister and I used to sneak downstairs and open our stockings, and then carefully re-wrap everything and pretend we hadn’t peeked. (Santa wraps stocking presents in tissue paper in our house, so it was easy to un & re-wrap.) We thought no one knew, but it turned out my parents DID know and were just glad of the extra bit of sleep it allowed them!

  22. tom m

    Family time is what Christmas is all about.

  23. Jennifer M

    I’m a bread lover also – it’s the downfall of my diet. I especially love pumpkin bread – to me its appearance in the fall is the start of the holiday season.

    Love The Connaghers – I’m eagerly awaiting the next book and the snippets that you’ve posted have only whetted my appetite. I hope the revisions go as well as the writing did.

  24. chey

    My favourite thing about cold weather is similar to yours. Being warm, with a hot drink and a good book!

  25. Marie t r

    I love when it’s cold outside and I can just curl up with a romance too. I love homemade bread especially when it’s just out of the oven. I can’t wait for your next book to come out, will Conn and Rae make an appearance?

  26. mmmm, homemade bread. There’s nothing better. Unfortunately we hardly ever make it 😦

  27. Tia

    I can relate to your comment about the wreath. We stopped decorating because no one wanted to take down the decorations.

  28. Tamara

    I really like your family time tradition–though it would probably kill my kids to sit and listen to a story before they could tear into their gifts πŸ™‚ Maybe I’ll adopt it but add a little spin, and read the story after.

    I hope you and your family have a happy Holiday season.

  29. Judith Hulley

    I have just read all the posts and I can almost smell the freshly baked bread! Mmmmmm
    We do a tree and some interior decorations, too and I am so happy because hubby walked in this afternoon with the Christmas tree. He said he bought it early so I could enjoy it for longer. Aaaah, I love the smell of them and can’t wait to decorate it. My big Christmas indulgence.

  30. Jessica

    This year my mom put up a little tree and took christmas decorations and put them in all her potted plants. Most of the plants just look like aliens.

  31. Fedora

    Hi, Joely! We’re definitely a family of bread lovers, too! My husband’s pretty good at making it, although we haven’t had much time for it recently. Maybe I can convince him to make some over the holidays when we’re off! And I have to agree–my favorite part of the holidays is getting to have some family time! (Not always sure the kids agree, but hey, I’m still ostensibly in charge here!)

  32. Armenia

    With the long Christmas break, things to do in the kitchen is one of the best ways to spend time with the monsters. It gets messy but I think making memories of family togethernesss is very important.

  33. Joder

    All these great food ideas are making me hungry! And it’s definitely the food that’s a great part of the holidays!

  34. Estella

    Home made bread is awesome anytime of the year.

  35. Lesa

    I love bread too! Mostly savory and not sweet breads, especially anything with cheese. I’m all about curling up with a hot cup of tea and a good book in the winter.
    Lesa

  36. Tracey D (bl0226)

    About 15 years ago, I was given a bread maker. I swear, I made and ate a loaf of bread every day (ok it seemed like I did and my hips told me so).

    I love the smell of home baked bread throughout the house….it reminds me of my grandmother’s house.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  37. Cathy M

    I love curling up in my down comfortor with a sexy romance and a cup of lemon tea.

  38. Nancy Gilliland

    Hi Joely: I guess family getting together for the holiday is my favorite tradition. Since my family is ever growing, it makes for more and more fun.

  39. Tameka Green

    i have to say right this minute I’m not liking anything about the colder weather. It’s freezing in NY the bus was late and to make matters even worse there was no heat on the bus. I was so happy to reach home. And to think tomorrow is going to be colder.

  40. Lots of bread lovers!

    Thank you so much, Jennifer! I’m hoping the revision goes smoothly!

    Happy holidays, everyone, and thank you for stopping by!

  41. RobynL

    I’ve been baking cookies and tomorrow I make Scuffles; dh even said it would be nice if I made them so I thought I’d b etter.