What I’m Reading

For pleasure, not for work. =)

Elizabeth by J. Randy Taraborrelli = I was in Barnes & Noble last week and my first stop is always the bargain books up front. I came across this bio of Elizabeth Taylor and picked it up. I’ve always thought that she was one of the most beautiful women to grace the earth with her presence, and I love reading biographies. Plus, when I was little and my grandpa and grandma gave me a bunch of old (and I mean old) books that were up in their attic, a picture of Elizabeth Taylor fell out of one of them. My grandpa had used it as a bookmark.=)

Paganism: An Introduction to Earth-Centered Religions by Joyce and River Higginbotham = I’ve been reading a lot on paganism and Celtic paganism lately. It’s always interested me, and I think it’s time for some sort of change in my life.

The Pact by Jodi Piccoult = My mom lent me this one after we talked about powerful writing. Jodi is definitely a powerful writing. I’ve never read this one, but I’ve heard the rape/child molestation scene in it is very powerful stuff that had my mom sick to her stomach and bawling. I haven’t reached that part yet, but if an author can do that to me (since my mom tends to be more emotional and “affected” than I), they have me hooked.

What are you reading?

2 Comments

Filed under Books and Authors

2 responses to “What I’m Reading

  1. Andrea

    I’ve read The Pact by Jodi Picoult. I’ve acutally read several of her books. I love her style of writting. Plus she’s from NE and most of her stories are set in towns/cities around here.. I’m currently reading Vanishing Acts. So far, it’s really good.

  2. I think you’d like The Wheel of the Year, by the Campanellis. http://www.amazon.com/Wheel-Year-Living-Magical-Life/dp/0875420915 It’s a lot of fun, and has a lot of craft-centered stuff related to the major sabbats. Rhiannon Rhial, West Country Wicca, is also very good. http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=rhiannon+ryall&hl=en&cid=15775298357825911283&ei=oi0HTPeQHIS2NoPj1PIB&sa=title&ved=0CA0Q8wIwATgA#p
    A nice overview of Pagans in America is by Margot Adler, NPR commentator and reporter. She does an excellent overview from a sociological perspective, and one of the groups she profiles is New Reformed Order of the Golden Dawn, which actually has nothing to do with the Golden Dawn but is druidic Wicca. http://www.amazon.com/Drawing-Down-Moon-Witches-Goddess-Worshippers/dp/014019536X
    Those are my favorites.
    As for what am I reading? I’m re-reading Barbara Walker’s Knitting from the Top Down and planning a ritual carpet to go under our altar in the temple upstairs. I’m also taking a Weaving class tomorrow on my rigid heddle loom and a class on Tunisian Crochet in a couple weeks. I’m excited; I love textiles and textile art.

Leave a Reply

